Yves LAGANE, Président of the jury

Elected in 2013 President of the “Yacht Club de France” and Vice-president of the association “Eric Tabarly”, the Admiral Yves Lagane is a professional mariner and an experienced yachtman. Maritime Prefect for the Channel and the North Sea, he as been, as well, President of the National Society for Sea Rescue (SNSM) from 2005 to 2013. He spent his entire career (thirty-years) in the French Navy, commanding three submarines. After leaving the Navy, in 2003, he stayed very active in safety and maritime security fields, promoting the values ​​of the “citizen of the sea”: responsibility, solidarity, respect. In May, he will chair the jury of the film at the Écrans de la mer of Dunkirk.

and the other members of the jury :

Dominique Laure AGNIEL, a director of documentaries for TV, Laure Dominique Agniel went and lived in Beyrouth when she was 20. She became a bookseller and a French teacher while there. Then she moved to Montréal before going back to France and starts a career first as a print journalist then at the radio “Radio France”. In the 90s she contributed in the creation of a TV program on the ARTE channel before casting off and sailing around the world with her three children. During a long stop-over in the Marquesas Islands, she creates a Marquesan radio station. She is the author of several travel stories and the President of the festival “Terre et Lettres” in la Rochelle (France).

Hervé CLAEYSSEN, a former captain in the Merchant Marine, Hervé Claeyssen has been commanding several ships for years across the seas from an harbor to another. Last October, he was nominated to the grade of “Commandeur dans l’ordre du Mérite maritime”. Today, his two feet on dry land, he is known as a talented painter who tells about his trips through sketches, drawings, water colors and etchings shown in numerous exhibitions. This kind of “an invitation to the journey” takes you deep into the maritime history at a time when the stopovers made everybody dream about the open sea.

Corentin CHATELPERRON an engineer and a French adventurer, President of the association ‘Gold of Bengal’. At the beginning of 2009 he went to Bangladesh to work in a shipyard dealing with composite construction. This is where he becomes convinced that synergies should be created between scientific skills and know-how from around the world to work altogether for implementation of sustainable development. He quickly decides to substitute fiberglass used in composites (pollutant, expensive and imported) by jute fiber. To make his point and find financial partners, this young engineer builds Tara Tari, the first boat integrating jute in its construction (40% fiber jute, 60% fiberglass). He then sails away from Bangladesh to France during a 6 months trip. The adventure of Tara Tari is a great success which gives birth to a new project “Gold of Bengal”. In 2013 the first 100% jute fiber sailboat is launched and Corentin leaves for a new adventure. During 6 months he sails between the Bay of Bengal islands, self-sufficient as he has embarked some hens, a greenhouse and low technologie.

Patrice GERARD an author and a committed documentary film director, Patrice Gérard gives the human being a central place in most of his work. His salty sea dog gravelly voice tells us about the changing world of work which is in quite a bad shape nowadays. So far, he has been consistent on decrying the damages caused by abuses of all kind on the people. His film “la paix du golfe” was awarded the best film about seafarers activities at the Ecrans de la Mer festival in 2013.

 

 

 

A jury of five young student in cinema audio from the Noordover school, will also be present to select the film that receives the Youth jury award of Dunkirk metropolitan area: Antoine Guilbert, Noéline Loiselle, Michiel Marie Charlotte Sleigh, Luc Trotignon.

LE JURY DU FILM 2014

 

 

Yves LAGANE, président du jury 2014

Élu en 2013, à la présidence du Yacht Club de France ainsi qu’à la vice-présidence de l’association Éric Tabarly, l’amiral Yves Lagane est un marin professionnel doublé d’un plaisancier averti. Ancien préfet maritime pour la Manche et la Mer du Nord, il a été président de la Société nationale de sauvetage en mer de 2005 à 2013, après avoir effectué une carrière d’une trentaine d’années dans la Marine nationale, commandant notamment trois sous-marins. Depuis son départ de la Marine en 2003, il reste très engagé dans la promotion de la sécurité et de la sûreté maritime, défendant les valeurs du « citoyen de la mer » : responsabilité, solidarité, respect. En mai prochain, il assurera la présidence du jury du film aux Écrans de la mer de Dunkerque.

 

et les membres du jury :


Laure Dominique AGNIEL : réalisatrice de documentaires pour la télévision, auteur de plusieurs récits de voyage et présidente du festival Terre & Lettres à La Rochelle, Laure Dominique Agniel est partie vivre à Beyrouth à 20 ans où elle a exercé le métier de libraire et de professeur de français. Elle a ensuite séjourné à Montréal avant de rentrer en France et de devenir journaliste d’abord dans la presse écrite puis à Radio France. Après avoir participé à la création d’un magazine sur ARTE dans les années 90, elle largue les amarres pour un tour du monde en voilier avec ses trois enfants et profite d’une longue escale aux Iles Marquises pour créer une radio locale en marquisien.

Hervé CLAEYSSEN : commandant de la marine marchande en retraite et peintre en activité, Hervé Claeyssen a navigué sur différents navires sillonnant les mers pendant de longues années d’un port à l’autre. Élevé au grade de Commandeur dans l’ordre du Mérite maritime en octobre dernier, il continue aujourd’hui sa route à terre et relate ses voyages au travers de dessins, aquarelles et gravures eau forte qui ont fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions. Cette invitation au voyage qu’il partage avec talent est aussi une plongée dans l’histoire à une époque où les escales offraient aux marins la possibilité de satisfaire leurs rêves de grand large.

Corentin de CHATELPERRON : ingénieur et aventurier français, président de l’association Gold of Bengal, Corentin de Chatelperron est parti au Bangladesh début 2009 pour travailler sur un chantier naval de construction de bateaux en composite. Convaincu qu’il faut créer des synergies entre les compétences scientifiques et les savoir-faire du monde entier pour innover ensemble dans le sens du développement durable, il a rapidement l’intuition de remplacer la fibre de verre utilisée dans les composites (matériau polluant, cher et importé) par de la fibre de jute. Pour démontrer le potentiel du composite en jute et rassembler des partenaires ce jeune ingénieur construit le voilier Tara Tari, p remier bateau intégrant du jute dans sa construction (40 % fibre de jute, 60 % fibre de verre), et rallie la France au Bangladesh au cours d’une navigation de 6 mois. L’aventure de Tara Tari est un succès duquel naîtra le projet de recherche « Gold of Bengal ». En 2013 après avoir mis à l’eau Gold of Bengal, premier voilier 100 % composite de jute, Corentin repart à l’aventure. Pendant six mois il croise dans les îles du golfe du Bengal pour expérimenter la navigation en autonomie avec des poules, une serre et des low technologies.

Patrice GÉRARD : auteur et réalisateur de nombreux documentaires engagés, Patrice Gérard privilégie toujours l’humain, le vécu et les témoignages dans ses œuvres. De sa voix rocailleuse de vieux loup de mer, il raconte un monde du travail bien mal en point et dénonce les abus de notre société face à des hommes et des femmes que le monde d’aujourd’hui bouscule. Son film, La Paix du golfe, a remporté le prix du meilleur film traitant des métiers de la mer lors de l’édition 2013 des Écrans de la Mer.

 

 

 

 

Un jury de cinq jeunes élèves de Seconde en ciné-audio au lycée Noordover sera également présent pour sélectionner le film qui obtiendra le Prix des jeunes de l’agglomération dunkerquoise : Antoine Guilbert, Noéline Loiselle, Marie Michiel, Charlotte Traineau, Luc Trotignon.