Pierre MOLLO


 

For 40 years Pierre Mollo, a teacher and a researcher kept both eyes focused on a microscope, observing the plankton. Today even if he is retired, he travels the globe tirelessly and visits the various “citizen observatories” which were created over the years since the birth of very first one in Port-Louis (Brittany), his native land. Through  many actions aimed at informing and educating a large audience, seafarers or not, he brings his passion to all of us so that we can admire and understand this extraordinary community of the “almost invisible”.
With this kind of a biologist, it is difficult, even impossible to be bored. “A simple drop of water contains wonders to be observed and by itself represents a true seafood main course”, he announces with a smile on his face.
As you probably noticed, the plankton is continuing to fill Pierre Mollo with wonder. After having made short films about the sea and the people who live on it, he edited a first book in 2009, L’enjeu plankton (co-authored by Maëlle Thomas Bourgneuf) and just edited a second one Le manuel du plankton (co-authored by Anne Noury).

Pierre Mollo will be present at the festival on the opening evening, Thursday, June 6th and on Friday morning June 7th.

www.observatoire-plancton.fr

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Pierre MOLLO

 

Depuis 40 ans l’œil rivé à son microscope, Pierre Mollo, enseignant et chercheur observe le plancton. Aujourd’hui à la retraite, il parcourt inlassablement la planète et visite les différents observatoires citoyens qui se sont créés au fil des années dans le monde entier depuis la naissance du tout premier à Port-Louis dans le Morbihan, sa terre natale.  Menant de nombreuses actions visant à sensibiliser petits et grands, professionnels de la mer ou non, il met sa passion au service de tous pour qu’à notre tour nous puissions admirer et comprendre cette communauté extraordinaire que forme le petit peuple de la mer. 
En présence de ce biologiste, il est difficile, voire impossible de s’ennuyer. « Une simple goutte d’eau contient des merveilles à observer et représente un véritable plateau de fruits de mer à elle seule », annonce-t-il un sourire au coin des lèvres.  
Vous l’aurez compris, Pierre Mollo n’a pas fini de s’émerveiller de cet infiniment petit. Après avoir tourné de nombreux courts et moyens métrages sur la mer et les gens qui en vivent, il s’est lancé dans l’écriture d’un premier livre sorti en 2009, L’enjeu plancton (coécrit avec Maëlle Thomas-Bourgneuf) et vient tout juste de publier un second livre Le manuel du plancton (coécrit avec Anne Noury).

Pierre Mollo, viendra rencontrer le public du festival, lors de la soirée d’ouverture le jeudi 6 juin ainsi que le vendredi 7 au matin.

www.observatoire-plancton.fr

Laisser un commentaire

Leave a Reply